(Deutsch) Polskie Nagrania / Maciej Golyzniak – The Orchid (Releasedate: 23.04.2021)

Home » News » (Deutsch) Polskie Nagrania / Maciej Golyzniak – The Orchid (Releasedate: 23.04.2021)

(Deutsch) Polskie Nagrania / Maciej Golyzniak – The Orchid (Releasedate: 23.04.2021)

Posted on

 

Polish Jazz

65. Label anniversary & 55th years of the “Polish Jazz” series

 

Poland occupies a special position in the European jazz scene, and for several reasons. After centuries of division, re-established as a state only after the First World War, jazz soon became an important part of the cultural identity of our eastern neighbor. Closely linked to the extremely productive Polish film industry, jazz developed an unmistakable idiom between Polish classical and folklore, Yiddish music and tango as well as American role models in the 1920s, which was able to develop independently by 1939. After German occupation and Stalinism, Polish jazz continued the tradition from 1956.

Musicians such as the trombonist Andrzej Kurylewicz as well as the pianists Andrzej Trzaskowski and the pianist Krzysztof Komeda , internationally recognized primarily for his Hollywood soundtracks, contributed to to formulate a genuine jazz idiom in front of other European countries. Komeda died in 1969, but fellow musicians from his bands such as saxophonists Zbigniew Namysłowski and Janusz Muniak , violinist Michał Urbaniak , pianist Adam Makowicz and trumpeter Tomasz Stańko should not only set the tone in Polish jazz for decades, but also belong to the elite of European jazz.

In times of political change in direction at the end of the 1980s, newly formed groups such as the Allstar Big Band Young Power provided a rebellious soundtrack to the uprisings in the Danzig shipyard and other places. After the end of the Cold War, many jazz musicians initially went to the West, but tireless mentors like Tomasz Stańko promoted young talent. Exciting youngsters like Kuba Więcek or Maciej Gołyźniak represent the esprit and authenticity of the youngest Polish jazz generation.

The “Polish Jazz” series has been documenting all developments in Polish jazz from Komeda to Gołyźniak since the mid-1960s. Originally published by the state record company Polskie Nagrania , the edition was reactivated by Warner Music and the classics of Polish jazz were brought to mind as well as the hidden treasures.

But that’s not all, with new recordings of old warriors like Jan “Ptaszin” Wróblewski and Zbigniew Namysłowski as well as a number of promising young talents, the one that has been around for over six decades will continue Series led into the future.

 

Krzysztof Komeda Quintet – “Astigmatic”

No other album is as groundbreaking for the self-image of Polish jazz as “Astigmatic” (1965) by the quintet of pianist Krzysztof Komeda from Krakow. With saxophonist Zbigniew Namysłowski and trumpeter Tomasz Stańko he has two wind instruments at his side, who in turn should become the driving forces behind the development of Polish jazz. The quintet is completed by the German bassist Günter Lenz and the Swedish drummer Rune Carlsson . The three long compositions full of melancholy and drama set the tone of countless Polish jazz productions to this day. A few years later, Komeda went to the USA and made himself immortal with soundtracks for his compatriot Roman Polanski such as “Dance of the Vampires” and “Rosemary’s Baby”.

 

Jan “Ptaszin” Wróblewski sextet – “Komeda: Moja Słodka Europejska Ojczyzna”

The 85-year-old saxophonist Jan “Ptaszin” Wróblewski is one of the elder statesmen of Polish jazz. As early as 1962 he played in the Sextet Krzysztof Komedas . Unlike Tomasz Stańko or Zbigniew Namysłowski, he remained committed to hard bop throughout his life. On “Komeda: Moja Słodka Europejska Ojczyzna” (2016), the then 80-year-old powerhouse paid a lively tribute to its former mentor. The live recording not only incorporates his personal view of Komeda, but also the perspective of younger musicians such as the trumpeter Robert Majewski (Polish Jazz Vol. 70), the saxophonist Henryk Miśkiewicz (Sun Ship, Polish Jazz Vol. 61) or the bassist Sławomir Kurkiewicz (Marcin Wasilewski Trio).

 

Tomasz Stańko – “Music For K”

With his first album as a leader, Tomasz Stańko carried on the ideas of Krzysztof Komeda, who died in a grotesque accident in 1969, in 1971. With K nobody else but Komeda is meant, and with this LP the Komeda reception in Poland, which continues to this day, began. On the saxophones, Komeda companions Janusz Muniak and the later violin legend Zbigniew Seifert , who also died much too young, can be heard. Bassist Bronisław Suchanek and drummer Janusz Stefański soon formed the rhythm section of pianist Miecyłsaw Kosz on “Reminiscence” (Polish Jazz Vol. 25). “Music For K” is rightly regarded as one of the most important documents of Polish free jazz, without abandoning the poetry trained in Slavic folklore.

 

Tomasz Stańko – “Music’81”

Tomasz Stańko was a style chameleon who experimented with a variety of idioms. His hoarse trumpet tone was always characteristic, creating the greatest possible contrast to Miles Davis’ timbre. On “Music 81” (1982) he finds a very coherent hinge between expressive free jazz and driving funk, which is constantly carried by an enigmatic swing. With drummer Chesław Bartkowski he has a comrade from Komeda at his side, pianist Sławomir Kulpowicz and bassist Vitold Szczurek , on the other hand, should first become important Developing exponents of Polish jazz in the 1980s. Thus “Music 81” stands for a stylistic reorientation of Stańko as well as for a paradigm shift in Polish jazz as a whole.

 

Zbigniew Namysłowski Quintet – “Kujawiak Goes Funky”

If ever there was a Polish jazz rock album that could compete with institutions like John McLaughlin’s Mahavishnu Orchestra or Chick Coreas Return To Forever, it would be “Kujawiak Goes Funky” (1975). The very song-like melody is reminiscent of Krzysztof Komeda, but the instrumentation was at the height of a time when electric jazz was just transforming into fusion. With a double saxophone front, pensive electric piano (pianist Wojchiech Karolak was also an early Komeda partner), funky bass lines and happily syncopating drums Namysłowski wide arcs of tension. The 20-minute title track alone is so rich in catchy melodies that you could conjure up an entire album from it. “Kujawiak Goes Funky” is a prime example of the folkloric sparkle of Polish jazz.

 

Michał Urbaniak Constellation – “In Concert”

In Poland there is an incomparable concentration of expressive jazz violinists who, in addition to Zbigniew Seifert , can be traced back to Michał Urbaniak . Unlike Seifert, who is considered the Coltrane counterpart on the violin, Urbaniak relied more on electrical sound research. Together with his wife Urszula Dudziak , who has long been considered the most adventurous singer in Europe, the keyboardists Wojchiech Karolak and Adam Makowicz (Polish Jazz Vol. 35 , 43) and drummer Chezław Bartkowski (Polish Jazz Vol. 50) he founded the band Constellation.

“In Concert” (1973) offers hypnotic space jazz that sounds like a Polish translation of “Bitches Brew”. No wonder that Miles Davis Urbaniak hired 13 years later for his album “Tutu”.

 

 

Maciej Gołyźniak – “The Orchid”

The drummer Maciej Gołyźniak belongs to the youngest generation of Polish jazz. The dominant moment of his music is movement, whereby he does not want to commit to one direction, but breaks out equally in all directions. His trio, which is complemented by flugelhornist Łukasz Korybalski in four of the seven tracks on “The Orchid” (2020), is characterized by playful arrogance and an infectious lust for the Look for unusual sounds. Comparisons to the Esbjörn Svensson Trio or Bugge Wesseltoft’s band Rymden may be obvious, but with Gołyźniak the rebellious urge for independence that has been characteristic of Polish jazz since the beginning is also noticeable.

 

Watch the official video for the first single outtake ‘ The Restless Rains

(Maciej Gołyźniak Trio feat. Łukasz Korybalski) here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v = mo99qNT9sJo

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/MaciekGolyzniakOfficial

Polskie Nagrania / Maciej Golyzniak – The Orchid (Releasedate: 23.04.2021)

Home » News » Polskie Nagrania / Maciej Golyzniak – The Orchid (Releasedate: 23.04.2021)

Polskie Nagrania / Maciej Golyzniak – The Orchid (Releasedate: 23.04.2021)

Posted on

 

 

Polish Jazz 

65. Label-Jubiläum &  55. Jahre der “Polish Jazz” Serie

 

Polen nimmt eine Sonderstellung im europäischen Jazzgeschehen ein, und das aus mehreren Gründen. Nach Jahrhunderte langer Teilung erst nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg als Staat neu gegründet, wurde der Jazz schon früh zu einem wichtigen Teil der kulturellen Identität unseres östlichen Nachbarlandes. Eng verbunden mit der äußerst produktiven polnischen Filmindustrie, entfaltete der Jazz bereits in den 1920er Jahren ein unverwechselbares Idiom zwischen polnischer Klassik und Folklore, jiddischer Musik und Tango sowie amerikanischen Vorbildern, die sich bis 1939 eigenständig entwickeln konnte. Nach deutscher Besatzung und Stalinismus knüpfte der polnische Jazz ab 1956 an die Tradition an.

Musiker wie der Posaunist Andrzej Kurylewicz sowie die Pianisten Andrzej Trzaskowski und der vor allem durch seine Hollywood-Soundtracks international anerkannte Pianist Krzysztof Komeda trugen dazu bei, vor anderen europäischen Ländern ein genuines Jazz-Idiom zu formulieren. Komeda starb bereits 1969, doch Mitstreiter aus seinen Bands wie die Saxofonisten Zbigniew Namysłowski und Janusz Muniak, Geiger Michał Urbaniak, Pianist Adam Makowicz und Trompeter Tomasz Stańko sollten über Jahrzehnte nicht nur den Ton im polnischen Jazz angeben, sondern auch zur Elite des europäischen Jazz gehören.

In Zeiten des politischen Richtungswechsels Ende der 1980er Jahre lieferten neu formierte Gruppen wie die Allstar Big Band Young Power einen aufmüpfigen Soundtrack zu den Aufständen in der Danziger Werft und an anderen Orten. Nach Beendigung des Kalten Krieges gingen zunächst viele Jazzmusiker in den Westen, doch unermüdliche Mentoren wie Tomasz Stańko förderten junge Talente ans Licht. Aufregende Youngsters wie Kuba Więcek oder Maciej Gołyźniak stehen für den Esprit und die Authentizität der jüngsten polnischen Jazz-Generation.

Die Reihe „Polish Jazz“ dokumentiert seit Mitte der 1960er Jahre alle Entwicklungen im polnischen Jazz von Komeda bis Gołyźniak. Ursprünglich von der staatlichen Plattenfirma Polskie Nagrania herausgegeben, wurde die Edition von Warner Music reaktiviert und die Klassiker des polnischen Jazz ebenso in Erinnerung gerufen wie die verborgenen Schätze.

Doch damit nicht genug, mit neuen Aufnahmen alter Haudegen wie Jan „Ptaszin“ Wróblewski und Zbigniew Namysłowski wie auch einer Reihe vielversprechender junger Talente wird die seit nunmehr seit über sechs Jahrzehnten bestehende weiter Reihe in die Zukunft geführt.

 

Krzysztof Komeda Quintet –  „Astigmatic“

Kein anderes Album ist für das Selbstverständnis des polnischen Jazz so wegweisend wie „Astigmatic“ (1965) vom Quintett des aus Krakau stammenden Pianisten Krzysztof Komeda. Mit Saxofonist Zbigniew Namysłowski und Trompeter Tomasz Stańko stehen ihm zwei Bläser zur Seite, die sich ihrerseits zu Triebkräften der polnischen Jazzentwicklung mausern sollten. Komplettiert wird das Quintett durch den deutschen Bassisten Günter Lenz und den schwedischen Schlagzeuger Rune Carlsson. Die drei langen Kompositionen voller Melancholie und Dramatik geben bis heute den Grundton zahlloser polnischer Jazzproduktionen an. Wenige Jahre später ging Komeda in die USA und machte sich durch Soundtracks für seinen Landsmann Roman Polanski wie „Tanz der Vampire“ und „Rosemarys Baby“ unsterblich.

 

Jan „Ptaszin“ Wróblewski Sextet – „Komeda: Moja Słodka Europejska Ojczyzna“

 Der 85-jährige Saxofonist Jan „Ptaszin“ Wróblewski zählt zu den Elder Statesmen des polnischen Jazz. Bereits 1962 spielte er im Sextett Krzysztof Komedas. Anders als Tomasz Stańko oder Zbigniew Namysłowski blieb er ein Leben lang dem Hardbop verpflichtet. Auf „Komeda: Moja Słodka Europejska Ojczyzna” (2016) entrichtete das zu diesem Zeitpunkt 80-jährige Powerhouse seinem einstigen Mentor einen überaus lebendigen Tribut. In die Live-Aufnahme fließt nicht nur seine persönliche Sicht auf Komeda ein, sondern auch die Perspektive jüngerer Musiker wie des Trompeters Robert Majewski (Polish Jazz Vol. 70), des Saxofonisten Henryk Miśkiewicz (Sun Ship, Polish Jazz Vol. 61) oder des Bassisten Sławomir Kurkiewicz (Marcin Wasilewski Trio).

 

Tomasz Stańko – „Music For K“

Mit seinem ersten Album als Leader führte Tomasz Stańko 1971 die Ideen des 1969 durch einen grotesken Unfall verstorbenen Krzysztof Komeda weiter. Mit K ist freilich niemand anderes als Komeda gemeint, und mit dieser LP setzte die bis heute anhaltende Komeda-Rezeption in Polen ein. An den Saxofonen sind Komeda-Weggefährte Janusz Muniak und die ebenfalls viel zu jung verstorbene spätere Geigenlegende Zbigniew Seifert zu hören. Bassist Bronisław Suchanek und Drummer Janusz Stefański bildeten kurz darauf die Rhythmusgruppe des Pianisten Miecyłsaw Kosz auf „Reminiscence“ (Polish Jazz Vol. 25). „Music For K“ gilt zu Recht als eines der wichtigsten Dokumente des polnischen Free Jazz, ohne dass deshalb auf die an slawischer Folklore geschulte Poesie verzichtet wurde.

 

Tomasz Stańko – „Music ’81“

Tomasz Stańko war ein Stil-Chamäleon, das mit einer Vielzahl von Idiomen experimentierte. Kennzeichnend war immer sein heiserer Trompetenton, der den größtmöglichen Kontrast zum Timbre von Miles Davis bildete. Auf „Music 81“ (1982) findet er ein sehr stimmiges Scharnier er zwischen expressivem Free Jazz und treibendem Funk, das unentwegt von einem hintergründigen Swing getragen wird. Mit Drummer Chesław Bartkowski steht ihm ein Mitstreiter aus Komeda-Zeiten zur Seite, Pianist Sławomir Kulpowicz und Bassist Vitold Szczurek hingegen sollten sich erst noch zu wichtigen Exponenten des polnischen Jazz der 1980er Jahre entwickeln. Somit steht „Music 81“ gleichermaßen für eine stilistische Neuorientierung Stańkos wie für einen Paradigmenwechsel des polnischen Jazz im Ganzen.

 

Zbigniew Namysłowski Quintet – „Kujawiak Goes Funky“

Wenn es je ein polnisches Jazzrock-Album gab, das es mit Institutionen wie John McLaughlins Mahavishnu Orchestra oder Chick Coreas Return To Forever aufnehmen konnte, dann „Kujawiak Goes Funky” (1975). Die sehr liedhafte Melodieführung erinnert an Krzysztof Komeda, die Instrumentierungen waren aber ganz auf der Höhe einer Zeit, in der sich der Electric Jazz gerade in Fusion verwandelte. Mit einer doppelten Saxofonfront, versonnenem E-Piano (Pianist Wojchiech Karolak war ebenfalls ein früher Komeda-Kompagnon), funkigen Basslinien und einem fröhlich synkopierenden Schlagzeug schlägt Namysłowski weite Spannungsbögen. Allein das 20-minütige Titelstück ist so reich an einprägsamen Melodien, dass man daraus ein ganzes Album zaubern könnte. „Kujawiak Goes Funky” ist ein Paradebeispiel für das folkloristische Funkeln des polnischen Jazz.

 

Michał Urbaniak Constellation – „In Concert“

In Polen gibt es eine unvergleichliche Konzentration expressiver Jazzgeiger, die neben Zbigniew Seifert vor allem auf Michał Urbaniak zurückgeht. Anders als Seifert, der als Coltrane-Pendant auf der Violine gilt, setzte Urbaniak mehr auf elektrische Klangforschung. Gemeinsam mit seiner Ehefrau Urszula Dudziak, die lange Zeit als experimentierfreudigste Sängerin Europas galt, den Keyboardern Wojchiech Karolak und Adam Makowicz (Polish Jazz Vol. 35, 43) sowie Drummer Chezław Bartkowski (Polish Jazz Vol. 50) gründete er die Band Constellation.

„In Concert” (1973) bietet hypnotischen Space Jazz, der wie eine polnische Übersetzung von „Bitches Brew” anmutet. Kein Wunder, dass Miles Davis Urbaniak 13 Jahre später für sein Album „Tutu” anheuerte.

 

 

Maciej Gołyźniak – „The Orchid“

Der Schlagzeuger Maciej Gołyźniak gehört der jüngsten Generation des polnischen Jazz an. Das dominierende Moment seiner Musik ist Bewegung, wobei er sich nicht auf eine Richtung festlegen will, sondern nach allen Seiten gleichermaßen ausbricht. Sein Trio, das in vier der sieben Tracks auf „The Orchid“ (2020) um den Flügelhornisten Łukasz Korybalski ergänzt wird, zeichnet sich durch spielerischen Übermut und eine ansteckende Wollust an der Suche nach ungewöhnlichen Klängen aus. Vergleiche zum Esbjörn Svensson Trio oder Bugge Wesseltofts Band Rymden mögen sich aufdrängen, doch bei Gołyźniak macht sich auch schon jener aufmüpfige Drang nach Unabhängigkeit bemerkbar, der dem polnischen Jazz seit Anbeginn eigen war.

 

Watch the official video for the first single outtake ‘The Restless Rains

(Maciej Gołyźniak Trio feat. Łukasz Korybalski) here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mo99qNT9sJo

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MaciekGolyzniakOfficial