Manuel Hermia – freetet (Releasedate: 27.05.2022)

Home » News » Manuel Hermia – freetet (Releasedate: 27.05.2022)

Manuel Hermia – freetet (Releasedate: 27.05.2022)

Posted on

 

Manuel Hermia continues his libertarian adventure with Freetet, a modern quintet that brings together his two long-time companions (Manolo Cabras and Joao Lobo) and a high-flying brass section (Manuel Hermia, Samuel Blaser and Jean-Paul Estiévenart) to explore the question of freedom through the prism of free jazz.

We no longer need to present Manuel Hermia, who has become the essential blower of the European jazz scene with many international collaborations (Trio Hermia / Ceccaldi / Darrifourcq, Bahdja, Orchestra Nazionale della Luna, Slang, Majid Bekkas, Le Murmure de l’Orient, …).

Freetet is the extension of his trio with Manolo Cabras and Joao Lobo, including two albums released by Igloo – Long tales and short Stories (2010) and Austerity … and what about rage? (2015) – that were already addressing the big theme of freedom. At a time when we are experiencing an ecological, health and political crisis, the Brussels saxophonist questions the meaning of this concept through a music that wants to be free and libertarian. We can read his thoughts on this in the booklet that accompanies the disc.

The Freetet is part of this reflection. It tries to find a balance between individual and collective voices and to propose a model that is as collaborative as possible. It is a libertarian music, where order and chaos are constantly balanced, as in nature. The compositions are clear, but the arrangements, rather than being written, sketch out directions, balances and role plays, so that each protagonist of the group can constantly appropriate his voice as he sees fit.

And these are not just any protagonists: a brass section where Hermia on saxophones surrounds himself with Samuel Blaser on trombone and Jean-Paul Estiévenart on trumpet, all supported by the solid complicity of Manolo Cabras on double bass and Joao Lobo on drums.

 

Links

 

https://www.igloorecords.be/artist/manuel-hermia/?lang=en

https://www.facebook.com/manuel.hermia

https://www.instagram.com/manuelhermia/?hl=de

Manuel Hermia – freetet (Releasedate: 27.05.2022)

Home » News » Manuel Hermia – freetet (Releasedate: 27.05.2022)

Manuel Hermia – freetet (Releasedate: 27.05.2022)

Posted on

 

Manuel Hermia setzt sein liberales Abenteuer mit Freetet fort, einem modernen Quintett, das seine beiden langjährigen Weggefährten (Manolo Cabras und Joao Lobo) und eine hochkarätige Bläsergruppe (Manuel Hermia, Samuel Blaser und Jean-Paul Estiévenart) zusammenbringt, um die Frage der Freiheit durch das Prisma des Free Jazz zu erkunden.

Wir brauchen Manuel Hermia nicht mehr vorzustellen, der mit zahlreichen internationalen Kollaborationen (Trio Hermia / Ceccaldi / Darrifourcq, Bahdja, Orchestra Nazionale della Luna, Slang, Majid Bekkas, Le Murmure de l’Orient, …) zum unverzichtbaren Bläser der europäischen Jazzszene geworden ist.

Freetet ist die Fortsetzung seines Trios mit Manolo Cabras und Joao Lobo, zu dem auch zwei bei Igloo veröffentlichte Alben gehören – Long tales and short Stories (2010) und Austerity … and what about rage? (2015) -, die sich bereits mit dem großen Thema der Freiheit befassten. In einer Zeit, in der wir eine ökologische, gesundheitliche und politische Krise erleben, hinterfragt der Brüsseler Saxophonist die Bedeutung dieses Konzepts durch eine Musik, die frei und freiheitsorientiert sein will. Seine Gedanken dazu kann man im Begleitheft der CD nachlesen.

Das Freetet Album ist Teil dieser Reflexion. Es versucht, ein Gleichgewicht zwischen individuellen und kollektiven Stimmen zu finden und ein Modell vorzuschlagen, das so kollaborativ wie möglich ist. Es handelt sich um eine freiheitliche Musik, in der sich Ordnung und Chaos wie in der Natur ständig die Waage halten. Die Kompositionen sind klar, aber die Arrangements sind nicht geschrieben, sondern skizzieren Richtungen, Gleichgewichte und Rollenspiele, so dass sich jeder Protagonist der Gruppe seine Stimme ständig so aneignen kann, wie er es für richtig hält.

Und das sind nicht irgendwelche Protagonisten: eine Bläsersektion, in der sich Hermia am Saxophon mit Samuel Blaser an der Posaune und Jean-Paul Estiévenart an der Trompete umgibt, unterstützt von der soliden Komplizenschaft von Manolo Cabras am Kontrabass und Joao Lobo am Schlagzeug.

 

Links

https://www.igloorecords.be/artist/manuel-hermia/?lang=en

https://www.facebook.com/manuel.hermia

https://www.instagram.com/manuelhermia/?hl=de