Andy Emler Trio – The Useful Report (Releasedate: 11.02.2022)

Home » News » Andy Emler Trio – The Useful Report (Releasedate: 11.02.2022)

Andy Emler Trio – The Useful Report (Releasedate: 11.02.2022)

Posted on

 

Twenty years ago, the core players of the MegaOctet Andy Emler (p), Claude Tchamitchian (cb) and Éric Échampard (dr) created this trio, a parallel project to the full orchestra, as a way to deepen and create their own sound. The Useful Report is the trio’s fourth album and is a little more written than usual. Why the title “useful report”? Because it establishes the sad observation that personal interest is prioritized over life, superficiality over depth, appearance over simply being. The entire project that is “The Useful Report” can perhaps be held within these words : bringing life back to the center.

When one writes about a trio that mixes composition and improvisation, it’s common to speak of “complicity”, especially when the musicians have been playing together for twenty years. It’s a little less common to say that within the Trio ETE, the listener isn’t really hearing a dialogue between three individuals, but rather a polyphonic monologue. No one plays a solo per say, as Andy Emler would say, the trio is the soloist. The result : the trio becomes an independent musical entity, with its necessary organic cohesion.

Anchored in sensation, the performance is very physical (and not only because it is virtuoso). Andy also often speaks of music as a “voyage”. With this trio it is all the more true, as the sound matter is always in motion. The voyage is as much external, with the music being in constant motion, as it is internal, with the listening experience being synonymous with openness – to oneself and to the world around.

In this new repertoire, we find the useful mix of improvisation-landscape, research on rhythm which flirts with contemporary music and hypnotic dynamics anchored in rock music – it isn’t for nothing that Andy Emler is fan of rock bands such as Led Zeppelin or The police. Moreover, the album is intended to be listened to at a high volume, as one would listen to a rock band or a symphonic orchestra. In brief, it still isn’t jazz (missed the mark again!), but it is not something else either. The Trio ETE achieves the dream of a music that simply is.

Raphaëlle Tchamichian ( traduction from french to English: Emmanuelle Zagoria)

 

Andy Emler | Claude Tchamitchian | Eric Echampard

 

Webseite: https://www.andyemler.eu/

Instgram: https://www.instagram.com/andyemler/?hl=de

Andy Emler Trio – The Useful Report (Releasedate: 11.02.2022)

Home » News » Andy Emler Trio – The Useful Report (Releasedate: 11.02.2022)

Andy Emler Trio – The Useful Report (Releasedate: 11.02.2022)

Posted on

 

Vor zwanzig Jahren gründeten die Kernmusiker des MegaOctet Andy Emler (p), Claude Tchamitchian (cb) und Éric Échampard (dr) dieses Trio, ein Parallelprojekt zum vollen Orchester, um ihren eigenen Sound zu vertiefen und zu kreieren. The Useful Report ist das vierte Album des Trios und ist etwas ausführlicher als sonst. Warum der Titel “Nützlicher Bericht”? Weil er die traurige Erkenntnis festhält, dass persönliches Interesse über das Leben gestellt wird, Oberflächlichkeit über Tiefe, Schein über Sein. Das gesamte Projekt “The Useful Report” lässt sich vielleicht in diesen Worten zusammenfassen: das Leben wieder in den Mittelpunkt stellen.

Wenn man über ein Trio schreibt, das Komposition und Improvisation mischt, ist es üblich, von ” Zusammenarbeit” zu sprechen, besonders wenn die Musiker seit zwanzig Jahren zusammenspielen. Es ist etwas weniger üblich zu sagen, dass der Zuhörer im Trio ETE nicht wirklich einen Dialog zwischen drei Individuen hört, sondern eher einen polyphonen Monolog. Keiner spielt ein Solo, wie Andy Emler sagen würde, das Trio ist der Solist. Das Ergebnis: Das Trio wird zu einer eigenständigen musikalischen Einheit, mit dem notwendigen organischen Zusammenhalt.

Die Darbietung ist sehr körperlich (und das nicht nur, weil sie virtuos ist) und in der Empfindung verankert. Andy spricht auch oft von der Musik als einer “Reise”. Bei diesem Trio trifft das umso mehr zu, als das Klangmaterial immer in Bewegung ist. Die Reise ist sowohl äußerlich, da die Musik in ständiger Bewegung ist, als auch innerlich, da das Hörerlebnis gleichbedeutend mit Offenheit ist – gegenüber sich selbst und der Welt um einen herum.

In diesem neuen Repertoire finden wir die nützliche Mischung aus Improvisation-Landschaft, Rhythmusforschung, die mit der zeitgenössischen Musik flirtet, und hypnotischer Dynamik, die in der Rockmusik verankert ist – nicht umsonst ist Andy Emler Fan von Rockbands wie Led Zeppelin oder The Police. Außerdem ist das Album dazu gedacht, mit hoher Lautstärke gehört zu werden, so wie man einer Rockband oder einem Sinfonieorchester zuhören würde. Kurz gesagt, es ist immer noch kein Jazz (schon wieder daneben!), aber es ist auch nichts Anderes. Das Trio ETE verwirklicht den Traum von einer Musik, die einfach ist.

Andy Emler | Claude Tchamitchian | Eric Echampard

Webseite:  https://www.andyemler.eu/ 

Instgram: https://www.instagram.com/andyemler/?hl=de