Reis Demuth Wiltgen “Sly” (Releasedate: 26.02.2021)

Home » News » Reis Demuth Wiltgen “Sly” (Releasedate: 26.02.2021)

Reis Demuth Wiltgen “Sly” (Releasedate: 26.02.2021)

Posted on


Pianist Michel Reis, bassist Marc Demuth and drummer Paul Wiltgen are three of Luxembourg’s most prominent jazz musicians. They formed the REIS DEMUTH WILTGEN Trio in 1998 while still in high school and performed on a regular basis in and around Luxembourg for a couple of years. The trio reunited in 2011 eager to share their experiences and new music. Their self-titled first album was released on Laborie Jazz to widespread critical acclaim. Since the release, the band has toured extensively throughout the world and has appeared at major international jazz festivals in Europe, Asia, North and South America and Western Africa. The band’s sophomore album “Places In Between” was recorded in New York City and released on Double Moon Records in 2016. The trio is now signed to the Italian label CAM JAZZ for whom they have recorded two albums: “Once In A Blue Moon” (2018) and their upcoming album “SLY“.

In 2016, the trio started collaborating with world-renowned saxophonist Joshua Redman. Redman says that he fell in love with their music from the moment he heard them when his own quartet was playing a double bill with REIS DEMUTH WILTGEN at a festival in France. He has been playing several of the trio’s compositions with his own bands. In March 2018, the trio toured in Europe with Joshua Redman as a featured guest.

This tour included a performance at the Philharmonie Luxembourg featuring the music of REIS DEMUTH WILTGEN arranged for the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg by multiple Grammy Award winning composer and conductor Vince Mendoza.

SLY is REIS DEMUTH WILTGEN’s fourth release. Sticking with the known acoustic piano trio format, the album features new works exclusively and captures the trio’s current musical identity and the strong voice it has developed among piano trios in recent years.

When musicians experience displacement, their views broaden, their ways diversify, their personalities grow, their ideas change and, as artists, their sense of ownership of what they might consider home, intensifies. The trio’s Luxembourgish heritage is precious to them and they recognize the importance of being aware of one’s roots in the context of making and creating music. The music of SLY is by no means traditional to Luxembourg, but this album represents an homage of sorts to REIS DEMUTH WILTGEN’s home, an acknowledgement of their upbringing, an appreciation of the where and the what from which they came. Their home base merely provides a foundation upon which they can venture out to build new experiences and thus create an honest and sincere, yet innovative sound.

The fox on the cover represents their strong ties to Luxembourg. One of the most notable literary works in Luxembourg’s national language, Luxembourgish, is “Renert” (full title: “Renert oder de Fuuß am Frack an a Ma’nsgrëßt” – “Renert or the fox in a tailcoat and in human size”) by Michel Rodange, published in 1872. An epic satirical work, adapted from the 1858 Cotta Edition of Goethe’s fox epic Reineke Fuchs to a setting in Luxembourg.

It is known for its insightful analysis of the unique characteristics of the people of Luxembourg, using regional and sub-regional dialects to depict the fox and his companions. REIS DEMUTH WILTGEN relates to the fox as a crafty, clever, creative and artful figure, characteristics very much in line with the artistry of the modern day musician. “sly” (like a fox), an album in homage to their identity as Luxembourgers.







  1. Snowdrop 4:24
  2. No Storm Lasts Forever 4:14
  3. If You Remember Me 5:02
  4. Fantastic Mr. Fox 4:26
  5. Silhouettes On The Kuranda 3:25
  6. Viral 3:39
  7. Diary Of An Unfettered Mind 4:28
  8. Let Me Sing For You 5:35
  9. Venerdì Al Bacio 3:17
  10. Nanaimo 4:02
  11. The Last We Spoke 3:32
  12. The Rebellion 5:58
  13. Home Is Nearby 2:57

Tracks #2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10 by Michel Reis

Tracks #1, 4, 6, 11, 13 by Paul Wiltgen

Track #12 by Marc Demuth

All tracks © KEPACH Music S.r.l.  |  ℗ 2020 KEPACH Music S.r.l. Under License by CAM CINE TV MUSIC, Inc.


Artistic Production Ermanno Basso

Recorded and mixed in Cavalicco (UD), Italy in May 2019 at Artesuono Recording Studio

Recording & mixing engineer Stefano Amerio

Mastered by Danilo Rossi

Cover drawing by Alyssa Kam-Cheong  |  Photography by Marlene Soares



  1. Januar 2021 – Pre-release of Diary Of An Unfettered Mind
  2. Februar 2021 – Pre-release of Viral
  3. Februar 2021 – Pre-release of No Storm Lasts Forever



  1. Februar – Echter’Jazz Festival, Trifolion, Echternach, LU
  2. Mai – D’Jazz Festival, Dijon, FR
  3. Juni – Leopolis Jazz Festival, Lviv, UKR